Programs of Choice include high school Career Academies, IB and AICE acceleration programs, JROTC, Early College Program, St. Johns County Center for the Arts at St. Augustine High School and, in middle school, a Center for the Arts program at RJ Murray Middle School. Students in 8th and 9th grade may apply for enrollment in a Program of Choice for any of the of the St. Johns County School District high schools. There are application rules and a timeline that must be followed in order to be considered. Students in 5th grade may apply for R. J. Murray Middle School’s Center for the Arts program.

Information on how to apply can be found at:

Why should you join a Career Academy?

The most important reason to join is students become part of a group who share their interests and desire to learn about a specific career field. Students will be taught by teachers with expertise in the career field and excitement to engage learning.

Joining a Career Academy can also provide opportunities that may not be available to other high school students. Students may earn more college credits or earn industry certifications through their enrollment, as well as become more involved in local businesses. Students participating in a Career Academy have a clear path for graduation. Each academy meets all graduation requirements and prepares students for postsecondary education and/or the world of work. While in the academy, students have an opportunity to participate in special activities and events that provide greater awareness of the specific career area and opportunities within that area. Academy participants will be part of a small group of students with similar interests completing courses together. An advisor and business mentor will be provided to answer questions and help each student as they complete their high school experience. Many programs offer industry certification exams. The passed are listed on the high school transcript and may count as college credits depending on the college/university the student attends and the major the student pursues.

Allen D. Nease High School Academies
Academy of Hospitality and Tourism
Communications Academy
Stellar Academy of Engineering

Bartram Trail High School Academies
Design Academy
Information Technology Academy
VyStar Academy of Business

Beachside High School Academies
Academy of Global Logistics and Supply Chain Management
Academy of Information Technology
Academy of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences

Creekside High School Academies
Academy of Emerging Technology
Academy of Engineering & Environmental Sciences
St. Johns County Academy of Future Teachers

Pedro Menendez High School Academies
Academy of Architectural and Building Sciences
VyStar Academy of Business
Flagler Health+ Academy of Future Healthcare Professionals

Ponte Vedra High School Academies
Academy of Biotechnology and Medical Research
Academy of International Business and Marketing
Academy of Information Technology

St. Augustine High School Academies
Academy of Law & Homeland Security
Aviation and Aerospace Academy
St. Johns County Academy of Future Teachers

St. Johns Technical High School Academies
Academy of Coastal & Water Resources
Academy of Culinary Arts

Tocoi Creek High School Academies
Academy of Innovation in the Built Environment
Academy of Leadership in Emerging Technologies
Flagler Health+ Academy of Future Healthcare Professionals

Early College Program

Early College Program is available to all eligible students on a “space available” basis. There are specific application and eligibility requirements for this program, which is provided in partnership with St. Johns River State College. The program is available at two locations, however accepted students who are zoned for another high school are responsible for transportation.


High School Acceleration Academies
Three high schools have international acceleration programs that are potentially open to students zoned for Bartram Trail, Creekside and Ponte Vedra High Schools. Students zoned for Allen D. Nease, Pedro Menendez or St. Augustine High Schools are not eligible to apply for the international acceleration programs at schools other than their zoned school. In addition to applying to these programs through the Program of Choice application process, students will have to be deemed academically eligible to be accepted into these programs. A Teacher Recommendation Form must be submitted by all four core academic teachers.

JROTC Programs

Junior Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (JROTC) is a program of choice designed to focus on leadership development, problem solving, strategic planning and professional ethics.

St. Johns County Center for the Arts (SJCCA)

The St. Johns County Center for the Arts provides artistically gifted students with a pre-professional program of study designed to develop their unique talents in the performing and visual arts. In an environment that is supportive and intellectually challenging, SJCCA prepares students to be members of an artistic society. Commitment and self-discipline are necessary in order to advance through the school’s academic and artistic studies.

Only 5th graders throughout the district can apply to go into the R. J. Murray School’s Arts Programs, and only 9th and 10th graders throughout the district can apply to go into the St. Augustine High School Arts Programs. In addition to applying through the Program of Choice application process, students must pass auditions to be considered.