As parents, we witness our children reach many milestones. The transition from middle school to high school is a big deal for both parent and child. But when your teenager is ready to move into the world of driving, well, that’s huge! However, there are several steps your teenager must take before getting behind the wheel. They must first obtain a learner’s permit.

Steps to Obtain a Driver’s Learner permit:

  • The student must be at least 15 years old
  • If a student is under 18 years old, they must have a signed/notarized parental consent form. Download the form at https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/71142.pdf
  • Students must provide proof of completion of the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course. Course information can be found on the Florida Highway and Safety Motor Vehicles (FLHMV) site: https://www.flhsmv.gov
  • Students must pass a vision and hearing test. Tests are administered at local driver’s license and motor vehicle service centers. Call your local DMV center for times and appointments
    Students must pass the Class E Knowledge Exam. Download the Official Florida Driver License Handbook at: https://www.flhsmv.gov

Most high schools offer driver’s education; contact the school and see course availability. Enrolling and passing driver’s education in school can help lower insurance costs. Parents should contact their insurance agent and learn about the cost savings. Driver’s education can help teenagers become better and more confident drivers.

You may also like:

Nancy Gonzalez, Volusia County Schools
Nathalie Orlando, RN
Carla Defuria , Health Coach and Registered Dietician, Flagler Health+
Trisha Howell MSH, RD, LD/N, IFMCP, CEO of Smart Wellness LLC
Bookelicious
Dawn Sapp Associate Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, St. Johns County School District
Barbara C. Holley